Farah Ramos' Blog

DoubleDragon Boat Race 2014 in Iloilo

Posted in Adventures by Farah Ramos on August 29, 2014

The DoubleDragon Boat Race 2014 that was organized by Sen. Pres. Franklin Drilon, Double Dragon Properties and the Iloilo City Government (with Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog and Cong. Jerry Trenas) was held at the Iloilo River last August 23, 2014 . It was formerly known as Sen. Frank Drilon Boat Race and started in 2012.

The race is an effort to raise public awareness and concern towards the Iloilo River. The story itself on how it became as clean as it is now is truly inspirational. 

I am lucky to be the Media Coordinator of the event. We all checked in at the Injap Tower, the tallest building in the city. Here is my photo with half of the press people on our way to the venue of the race:
IMG_4729IMG_4716

IMG_4727

 

I am proud to say that my good friend, Councilor Jay Trenas, is one of the people behind the cleaning of the Iloilo River. It’s such an honor to be friends with someone who is responsible for the development of this beautiful city.IMG_4728

 

After having witnessed the dragon boat race, I’ve become interested in trying out to be a paddler. I want to experience it!IMG_4742

Here’s just the tricky part. I got so involved in the race that I couldn’t forget what happened. During the finals of the men’s division, I was so amazed by the Boracay All-Stars. They were trailing behind the Boracay Sea Dragons. A few meters away from the finish line, that was when they paddled harder. If you were there, I swear, you’d think the Boracay All-Stars won. It was a close fight… like seriously a close fight. 

I spotted one of the paddlers from Boracay All-Stars, Kiko Rustia, and had a photo taken with him. I was that amazed, I am now a fan!IMG_4740

When we were on the way back to the hotel, I found out that it wasn’t the Boracay All-Stars that won, it was the Boracay Sea Dragons. But of course I didn’t believe immediately. I had to ask the organizers for confirmation and then I saw this photo that was posted on the Internet:
IMG_4792Imagine, the Boracay All-Stars were defeated by 52 milliseconds! 

But anyway, congratulations to Boracay SeaDragons for winning! 🙂 Such an amazing first for me to witness a boat race and it was a really really nice race, tight competition! 

 

For more info about this event, you may check out these articles:

Ian Ulpindo of DragonBoat.ph: https://www.facebook.com/DragonBoatPH

Richard Dy of Spin.ph: http://www.spin.ph/watersports/news/double-dragon-boat-race-iloilo-city-watersports-boat-racing-philippines-boracay-all-stars

Frank Calapre of The Manila Times: http://www.manilatimes.net/breaking_news/boracay-sea-dragons-rule-iloilo-doubledragon-boat-race/

Ramil Cruz of Abante http://www.abante.com.ph/sports3/other-sports/12313/double-dragon-boat-race-papalaot-ngayon.html

Leave a Reply

