Farah Ramos' Blog

Julio at Julia in Bangkok Part 2

Posted in Adventures by Farah Ramos on August 22, 2013

IMG_2851

July 17 – 22 — My bestfriend Gino and I went to Bangkok, Thailand again for the second time together. Our first was January of last year. I know I promised myself not to go back to any destination I’ve visited since my traveling goal is to match my age with the countries I’ve been to. Thailand, apparently, was an exception. Aside from not having a chance to travel this year, I cannot deny the fact that I’ve fallen in love with this country.

Why Julia at Julia? Remember the twins Julio at Julia (Kambal ng Tadhana)? 🙂

So off we went to Bangkok…

IMG_3689

Lucky girl! I got all three (3) seats to myself so the 3-4 hour flight was comfortable.

It was Gino’s birthday and yet another reason why we flew to Bangkok. We dined at Feuang Nara, Gino’s favorite restaurant. I love it there… the ambience and THE FOOD!

Must try: Crab curry, prawn spring rolls and of course Thai iced tea!!!

IMG_2945

Bangkok at night. We had a few glasses of wine at Hyatt Hotel with Gino’s friends… while I was also having my dinner. It’s quite embarrassing to admit that I am always hungry, haha! Actually, Gino always is… and I am not.

It was my first time to mingle with Thai people. And it was then that I realized why I want to keep coming back to Bangkok.

Thailand is almost just like the Philippines… it’s also in Asia, Thais and Filipinos look the same, the weather is just the same. So it’s still “home” for me in terms of the things that I see. It’s like you’re in a familiar yet unfamiliar place. And it’s just so refreshing to be “home” at the same time enjoy my independence. I can just let my feet take me to wherever they intend to go.

That was part of the conversation we had. After that, we went to meet Gino’s other friends at Soi 11 and Falabella… and there I met more Thai people! 🙂

IMG_3100

Walking along Soi 11, we spotted these mobile bars along the street. It was complete with all the paraphernalia: bartender, booze, sound system, chairs and tables… so cool!

IMG_3019

IMG_3018

IMG_3017

The next day, I decided to go to the Lumphini Boxing Stadium right across where we were staying. I also went to buy some Muay Thai essentials (liniment oil, hand wraps, and of course boxing glove keychains 😛 ). After buying all these stuff, I went upstairs to check out the Muay Thai Gym. They invited me in and allowed me to watch, take photos and videos.

It was amazing to see them train right in front of me. I didn’t get a chance to talk to them because they didn’t understand nor speak English. Anyway, they were unbelievably strong and powerful! They would do 10 consecutive kicks with the same strength/ power.

IMG_2989

And so when I got back to the hotel, I was in the mood to go to the gym.

IMG_3079

IMG_3690

Wandering the streets of Bangkok

IMG_3043IMG_3045IMG_3046IMG_3044

And of course, SHOPPING!!! I went to Chatuchak to buy pasalubong for my loved ones and friends back home — a must! Haha! Look at this photo of me carrying a shopping bag that looks like a garbage bag.

IMG_3067

I met Hannah, a high school friend of mine, after I shopped at Chatuchak. She took me to Platinum Fashion Mall to shop some more!

IMG_3063

I really got so tired after and this was how I looked like before Hannah and I had dinner:

IMG_3069

Some of the cute stuff I bought:

IMG_2924

IMG_2925

IMG_2923

IMG_3090

I’m sure this is not gonna be my last in Bangkok. I am so in love with this city and I know I’ll come back again… and again. The only question is when. 🙂

Leave a Reply

