Farah Ramos' Blog

My Little Adventure in Singapore.

Posted in Adventures by Farah Ramos on February 3, 2011

I make it a point to at least stroll around by myself whenever I travel. I want to explore a strange place on my own, create my own adventure, get lost, and just make myself feel like I’m a stranger in that particular place… and from that you’ll learn I’d get to learn a lot.

So on my last day in Singapore, I decided to just go to the Merlion Park by myself. But since Xandee (my friend’s boyfriend) was left with no one to be with that day, he decided to join me in my little adventure. The goal was to SEE THE MERLION.

We only had 3 hours to do this because we’ll miss our flight if we exceed that time frame.

First challenge: Figure out how to get out of Carissa Park Condominium. It took us half an hour to find the exit… it’s a huge ass condominium. We were already walking fast as soon as we got out. We went to the Bus Station and waited for 10 minutes for the bus to Tampines Station to arrive.

In the bus:

We were so happy when we got to the Tampines MRT Station:

MRT Stops:

Marina Bay Sands.

Trivia: The Sands SkyPark is an awe-inspiring engineering wonder. This unique structural masterpiece, designed by visionary architect Moshe Safdie, floats atop the three soaring Marina Bay Sands hotel towers 200m in the sky.

To go to the Sands SkyPark, you have to pay $20. We didn’t have time so we just took a picture with the Hotel Towers as the background:

So WHERE IS THE MERLION? Find the missing Merlion! Hahahaha! Apparently, we reached the wrong side. We were at the Marina Bay Sands and the Merlion Park was right across where we were. So here is a picture of me holding the TINY Merlion:

Singapore Flyer:

Trivia: The Singapore Flyer is currently the tallest Ferris wheel in the world. Described by its operators as an observation wheel,it reaches 42 stories high, with a total height of 165 m (541 ft), and is 5 m (16 ft) taller than the Star of Nanchang and 30 m (98 ft) taller than the London Eye.

This was the end of our little adventure. We felt like we were on an Amazing Race challenge and we were the first ones to finish. We kept exchanging high-fives! Hahahahahahaha! Even if we didn’t get to see the Merlion up close, still…. the challenge was JUST TO SEE THE MERLION.

Our friends couldn’t stop laughing when they heard about our adventure. Hahahahaha! Craziest and fun adventure!!! And by the way, we made it on time!

A few minutes later, we were off to the Changi Airport and said bye bye to our foster parents during our stay. Thanks for letting us stay in your unit Tito and Tita! 🙂

Leave a Reply

