Farah Ramos' Blog

1920s New York Vintage

Posted in Uncategorized by Farah Ramos on March 23, 2010

It’s my bestfriend Jomari Viola’s wedding on June 12, 2010. He told me that the theme is 1920s New York Vintage.

So I had to research about it cuz unfortunately, I learned that I am not part of the entourage (which is disappointing because he’s been my friend since pre-school. I didn’t ask about it cuz I was so sure that I was part of it… but I was wrong. Anyway, he explained it to me… so I decided to just let it pass.)

I am so excited about this wedding because it’s going to be my first time to attend a THEMED WEDDING.

Here are the pegs that I found under the said category:

And then I checked out my favorite blogger, Jane Aldridge’s site (SEA of SHOES) and looked for some inspiration:

Vintage Vivienne Westwood jacket. Worn with antique lace blouse from If.

Close ups the jewelry…vintage Ahnk necklace & Pamela Love claw.

Koos Van Dan Akker wrap dress.

The cameo necklace is vintage Nettie Rosenstein.

I also found this nice photo taken from a real 1920’s-themed Wedding from GLAMOUR:

Kate Moss for Vogue: 1920s FLAPPER FASHION RETURNS

1920s Fashion:

Coco Chanel, Paul Poiret, and other visionary fashion designers had pivotal roles in defining the flapper style.

Poiret made his mark by ridding modern fashion of the corset, Vionette made hers with the intricate cutting techniques, while Chanel simply redefined fashion.

Chanel’s designs were never extravagant or overdone.

They took a new look at what it meant to be a woman in the modern world and built a brand new fashion around it. Her dresses were made for “flappers” because they allowed a woman to move, wouldn’t fall apart when she danced, and were as appropriate for the outdoors as the indoors.

Both modern and flapper fashion owe a lot to the vision of Coco Chanel. – SOURCE: 1920s Fashion and Music

Leave a Reply

